Remove this ad

How to refer to my grandfather - newbie question

Rss     Subscribe     Share     Tweet    

0 Points

Lead

Feb 3 13 7:55 AM

Tags : :

Total newbie question here, never having written anything like this before. I am writing a biography of my grandfather - intertwining my memories of him, stories that he had written about his life, and narrative from documents I have and interviews with my grandmother. Do I refer to him as "Granddad" or by his first name, "Charles"? 

For example, on Day One I wrote about a childhood dog that he had. I wrote something like this (I don't have the actual version in front of me): "As a child, I particularly loved when Granddad would tell me about when he was a child. A very early memory of his stories is him telling me about Jack, the only dog he ever had. Later on, he wrote down the story of Jack:"..... and then I went on to insert the anecdote he wrote himself about when Jack bit the tail off the neighbour's cow, and then when Jack bit a motorcyclist's leg and the man took them to court and the judge made them put Jack down. 

It sounds strange to say "As a child I particularly loved when Charles would tell me about when he was a child".... I guess what I'm saying is that when I am writing narrative from my own point of view, it sounds more natural to say "Granddad", but when I am writing general narrative of his life, say, as an adult, or about his work, it sounds better to say "Charles". 

How do I handle this??
Thanks for any suggestions!
Nicola

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#1 [url]

Feb 3 13 1:10 PM

I think you can use both.
 Introduce your Granddad by his real name at the start just so readers know who you are talking about.
 ie. 
"As a child I particularly loved when my Granddad would tell me about when he was a child. My granddad was born Charles .........., in the year ................. A time I can only imagine. But his stories brought that era to life."